Skip to main content


The scientific authority and autonomy of the AIFA is supported by the activities of 4 Technical Scientific Committees consisting of experts of well established experience.

  • Technical Scientific Committee: it assesses the national and European marketing authorisation applications, it delivers a consultative opinion on them and provides classification for reimbursement; the CTS takes over the tasks formerly attributed to the National Drug Evaluation Board (CUF, Commissione Unica del Farmaco) at the Ministry of Health.
  • Prices and Reimbursement Committee (CPR, Comitato Prezzi e Rimborso): it carries out the activity of negotiation with pharmaceutical companies for the setting of prices of medicinal products reimbursed by the National Health Service according to transparent methods, timelines and procedures established by the Interministerial Committee for Economic Planning (Comitato Interministeriale per la Programmazione Economia – CIPE) deliberation of 1st February 2001.
Skip to main content Skip to the top of the page